Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards: The Winners

They wrote, we read (in droves) and from an astoundingly talented flock of writers and poets emerged the winners of the Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards. Marian Keyes, Graham Norton, Mike McCormack, Paul O? Connell and Tana French were some of the winning authors named at the Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards held in Dublin this evening. Renowned poet John Montague was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award, and bestselling author Jilly Cooper was the recipient of the Bord G?is Energy International Recognition Award - a special award made to international authors who have contributed substantially to the health and wealth of the Irish book trade.

Now in its 11th year, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in Dublin's Double Tree Hilton and was attended by Ireland's top writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities including writers Sebastian Barry, Maggie O? Farrell, Donal Ryan, Marita Conlon McKenna, Roddy Doyle, Cecelia Ahern, Michael Harding, John Bowman, and Fintan O? Toole, media personalities Gay Byrne, Ryan Tubridy, Jason Byrne, Pippa O? Connor, and Louise McSharry andfood writers (and IMAGE contributors) Indy Power, Sophie White.

The full list of winners in the ?Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards 2016? are:

The Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

Solar Bones - Mike McCormack (Tramp Press)


The Best Irish Published Book of the Year


The Glass Shore - edited by Sin?ad Gleeson (New Island Books)

The Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Red Dirt - E.M. Reapy (Head of Zeus)

The National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year

I Read The News Today, Oh Boy - Paul Howard (Picador)


RTE Radio One's The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award

Lying In Wait - Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)

The Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)

Pig?n of Howth - Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs (Gill Books)

The Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)

Knights of the Borrowed Dark - Dave Rudden (Puffin)

The Avonmore Cookbook of the Year


The World of The Happy Pear - Stephen and David Flynn (Penguin Ireland)

The Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year


Holding - Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Making It Up As I Go Along - Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

The Bord G?is Energy Sports Book of the Year


The Battle - Paul O'Connell (Penguin Ireland)

The Books Are My Bag Crime Fiction Book of the Year


The Trespasser - Tana French (Hachette Ireland)

The Short Story of the Year Award

The Visit - Orla McAlinden (Sowilo Press)

The Listowel Writers? Week Irish Poem of the Year


In Glasnevin - Jane Clarke (From: The Irish Times)

This year, over 45,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category. From tomorrow (17 November 2016), the public can vote for their overall ?Bord G?is Energy Book of the Year? by going to Voting is open until midnight on 9th December and anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens.

The image newsletter