Are doctor office visits a thing of the past? This new virtual hub might be...


Top of our wish list: candles that are maybe too pretty to burn

Megan Burns

The state of the fashion trend: Do they still exist or matter?

Marie Kelly

This gorgeous redbrick home in Rathmines is on the market for €825,000

Lauren Heskin

Boudoir photoshoots: ‘I wanted to create a place for women who don’t currently love their...

Jennifer McShane

Join this virtual event, where global leaders ask ‘what’s next’ for businesses, live events and...

Shayna Sappington

Marie Kelly always hated her brows. Until she had them tattooed.

Marie Kelly

What’s on this weekend: March 5-7

Lauren Heskin

Covid life: How to parent when you have no answers for them

Amanda Cassidy

Image / Editorial

Irish Book Awards: The Winners

by Laura Chabal
27th Nov 2015

See More Photos
The Irish Book Awards took place on Wednesday 25th of November in Dublin.

This 10th anniversary year, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in Dublin’s Double Tree by Hilton. The ceremony was attended by Ireland’s top writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities, including food writers Donal Skehan and Susan Jane White, novelists Kevin Barry, Paul Murray and Belinda McKeon, broadcasters Ryan Tubridy, Sinead Crowley, Diarmuid Ferriter and Matt Cooper and many more.

Renowned Irish American novelist JP Donleavy was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award. Adding his congratulations to his friend “Mike” Donleavy by video-link, was Hollywood megastar Johnny Depp, who is producing and reportedly starring in, a film version of Donleavy’s 1955 novel?The Ginger Man.

This year, over 45,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category. From the 26th of November to the 17th of December, the public can vote for their overall ?Bord G?is Energy Book of the Year? by going to Anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens.

The full list of winners in the ?Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards 2015? are:

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year
? The Green Road by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape) Best Irish Published Book of the Year
? The Long Gaze Back: An Anthology of Irish Women Writers edited by Sin?ad Gleeson (New Island Books)

Specsaver’s Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)
? Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers (Harper Collins Children’s Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)
? Asking For It by Louise O? Neill (Quercus Books)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year
? The Virtuous Tart by Susan Jane White (Gill & Macmillan)

Ireland AM Crime Book of the Year
? After the Fire by Jane Casey (Ebury Press)

Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year
? The Way We Were by Sinead Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year
? Children of the Rising by Joe Duffy (Hachette Books Ireland)

Bord G?is Energy Sports Book of the Year
? Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim Mc Guinness (Gill & Macmillan)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
? Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press)

Books Are My Bag Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
? Me and My Mate Jeffrey by Niall Breslin (Hachette Books Ireland)

RT? Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners’ Choice Award
? Irelandopedia by Fatti and John Burke (Gill & Macmillan) Short Story of the Year
? A Slanting of the Sun by Donal Ryan (Doubleday)

Commenting on this year’s winning books, Brendan Corbett, Bord G?is Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said:

?With these awards, one thing never changes and that is the seemingly limitless creativity of Irish writers. We know that every year we will be guaranteed fantastic books to choose from and that there will be great work from experienced writers and always fresh talent bursting through to challenge them as the list of winners shows. Irish literature really is the gift that keeps on giving. We congratulate all of this year’s winners and urge readers to support them this Christmas.?