A dad’s divorce diary: ‘See you in court is an expensive phrase’
A dad’s divorce diary: ‘See you in court is an expensive phrase’

Amanda Cassidy

Page Turners: ‘Exile’ author Aimée Walsh
Page Turners: ‘Exile’ author Aimée Walsh

Sarah Gill

Is your workplace a generational echo chamber? It’s time to bridge the divide
Is your workplace a generational echo chamber? It’s time to bridge the divide

Victoria Stokes

I’ve been ugly and beautiful and the difference is depressing
I’ve been ugly and beautiful and the difference is depressing

Sophie White

Wedding supplier spotlight: Your Story. By Elle.
Wedding supplier spotlight: Your Story. By Elle.

Shayna Sappington

Mid-century cool meets contemporary Irish design in this Dublin seaside home
Mid-century cool meets contemporary Irish design in this Dublin seaside home

Orla Neligan

Calling all emerging Irish artists – NYX Hotel Dublin is looking for you
Calling all emerging Irish artists – NYX Hotel Dublin is looking for you

IMAGE

White maxi skirts will be your summer saviour this year
White maxi skirts will be your summer saviour this year

Sarah Finnan

Irish–filmed shows and movies to watch out for this year
Irish–filmed shows and movies to watch out for this year

Sarah Finnan

From high fashion to hi-vis: Group Sustainability Manager at Glenveagh, Ruth Saurin
From high fashion to hi-vis: Group Sustainability Manager at Glenveagh, Ruth Saurin

IMAGE

Image / Beauty

Blondes, in 2020 we aren’t worrying about our roots anymore


By Holly O'Neill
09th Jan 2020
Blondes, in 2020 we aren’t worrying about our roots anymore

Thank you for this gift, blondes of the Golden Globes.


Do you remember when athleisure became a trend, and you thought, “how nice for people who don’t look hungover in leggings that they can now dress like this all day and feel fashionable?” And now you own a wardrobe of joggers from leather to Lycra that you can’t imagine ever being without? And do you remember when trainers became a trend, and you thought, “but I must teeter all day and live a life of pain in high heels, lest anyone know my true height?” And now, look at you, you would rather step on a plug than be caught dead in a high heel from Monday to Friday.

Bless you, all of you, for your diligence and determination in making athleisure, trainers and comfort cool. We owe so much to you.

As do we owe so much to the blondes of the Golden Globes (truly, pretty much all of them bar the icy-haired Lucy Boynton), who have granted blondes with the gift of no longer stressing over dark roots. Margot Robbie, Gwyneth Paltrow, Naomi Watts, Scarlett Johansson, Sienna Miller, Saoirse Ronan, Reese Witherspoon, Laura Dern, Greta Gerwig, Renée Zellweger, Kristen Cavallari and Michelle Pfeiffer went purposely rooty to the Golden Globes this week, giving you permission to no longer fret when you’re well-due a hair appointment.

Seriously, scroll down and see the sheer quantity of rooty blondes that walked the red carpet this week. Screenshot them and set them as your phone’s wallpaper. Print them out and stick them to the fridge. When you begin to falter in your resolve, take a peek at them and remember, even Sienna Miller and Greta Gerwig miss a hair appointment.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Bryce Scarlett (@brycescarlett) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Georgie Eisdell (@georgieeisdell) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Renato Campora (@renatocampora) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Frankie Boyd (@frankieboyd) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by James Kaliardos (@jameskaliardos) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Elizabeth Saltzman (@elizabethsaltzman) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kelsey Deenihan (@kdeenihan) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by ???? ???????? (@ryantrygstadhair) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by jennstreicher (@jennstreicher) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Richard Marin (@richardmarin) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Michelle Pfeiffer (@michellepfeifferofficial) on

Digital illustration by Sophie Teyssier.

Read more: We need to talk about the new Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk range

Read more: A dermatologist’s guide to what you actually need in your skincare routine

Read more: Clean beauty terminology explained and debunked by two experts