How to declutter your life: the delusion of the ‘spring clean’
How to declutter your life: the delusion of the ‘spring clean’

Esther O'Moore Donohoe

‘You don’t look pregnant’: Why does everyone have an opinion on your baby bump?
‘You don’t look pregnant’: Why does everyone have an opinion on your baby bump?

Amanda Cassidy

Here are some of the finest (and affordable) fragrances to gift your other half this Valentine’s Day
Here are some of the finest (and affordable) fragrances to gift your other half this...

Sarah Gill

This Dublin 4 cottage has had a complete transformation thanks to its architect owner
This Dublin 4 cottage has had a complete transformation thanks to its architect owner

Orla Neligan

May Ciaran: My biggest beauty lessons
May Ciaran: My biggest beauty lessons

IMAGE

Healthy, easy breakfast: Oat and berry breakfast bars
Healthy, easy breakfast: Oat and berry breakfast bars

Meg Walker

This Irish company allows you to ‘hack’ your Ikea kitchen with a bespoke design
This Irish company allows you to ‘hack’ your Ikea kitchen with a bespoke design

Megan Burns

Social Pictures: Our very own New Year, New Home Habits event with Homesense Cork
Social Pictures: Our very own New Year, New Home Habits event with Homesense Cork

Sarah Gill

Why you should ‘say yes’ to a pre-loved wedding dress (and where to buy one!)
Why you should ‘say yes’ to a pre-loved wedding dress (and where to buy one!)

Sarah Finnan

Tips to tackle the mess in your kids’ room, from Orla Neligan
Tips to tackle the mess in your kids’ room, from Orla Neligan

IMAGE Interiors & Living

Image / Beauty

Blondes, in 2020 we aren’t worrying about our roots anymore


By Holly O'Neill
09th Jan 2020
Blondes, in 2020 we aren’t worrying about our roots anymore

Thank you for this gift, blondes of the Golden Globes.


Do you remember when athleisure became a trend, and you thought, “how nice for people who don’t look hungover in leggings that they can now dress like this all day and feel fashionable?” And now you own a wardrobe of joggers from leather to Lycra that you can’t imagine ever being without? And do you remember when trainers became a trend, and you thought, “but I must teeter all day and live a life of pain in high heels, lest anyone know my true height?” And now, look at you, you would rather step on a plug than be caught dead in a high heel from Monday to Friday.

Bless you, all of you, for your diligence and determination in making athleisure, trainers and comfort cool. We owe so much to you.

As do we owe so much to the blondes of the Golden Globes (truly, pretty much all of them bar the icy-haired Lucy Boynton), who have granted blondes with the gift of no longer stressing over dark roots. Margot Robbie, Gwyneth Paltrow, Naomi Watts, Scarlett Johansson, Sienna Miller, Saoirse Ronan, Reese Witherspoon, Laura Dern, Greta Gerwig, Renée Zellweger, Kristen Cavallari and Michelle Pfeiffer went purposely rooty to the Golden Globes this week, giving you permission to no longer fret when you’re well-due a hair appointment.

Seriously, scroll down and see the sheer quantity of rooty blondes that walked the red carpet this week. Screenshot them and set them as your phone’s wallpaper. Print them out and stick them to the fridge. When you begin to falter in your resolve, take a peek at them and remember, even Sienna Miller and Greta Gerwig miss a hair appointment.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Bryce Scarlett (@brycescarlett) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Georgie Eisdell (@georgieeisdell) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Renato Campora (@renatocampora) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Frankie Boyd (@frankieboyd) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by James Kaliardos (@jameskaliardos) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Elizabeth Saltzman (@elizabethsaltzman) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kelsey Deenihan (@kdeenihan) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by ???? ???????? (@ryantrygstadhair) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by jennstreicher (@jennstreicher) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Richard Marin (@richardmarin) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Michelle Pfeiffer (@michellepfeifferofficial) on

Digital illustration by Sophie Teyssier.

Read more: We need to talk about the new Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk range

Read more: A dermatologist’s guide to what you actually need in your skincare routine

Read more: Clean beauty terminology explained and debunked by two experts