All the winners (and best Twitter moments) from last night's IFTA Awards

Last night saw the annual 2018 IFTA Gala Television Awards return to the RDS in Dublin. Nominees across 23 categories walked the star-studded red carpet to be in with a chance of winning a coveted award.

The attendees, as always, documented their evening on social media; giving us all a glimpse inside the show and often making us laugh in the process. Some of the best tweets of the night came from the cast and crew of Channel 4 comedy Derry Girls, who brought a cardboard cut-out of actress Nicola Coughlan, who could not attend:

It worked even better when the show won an award for Best Comedy:


The evening also saw some great style, especially among the men in attendance:


And of course, the ladies of the Six One news were ever the professionals:

The evening, hosted by comedian Jason Byrne, saw winners from some of our favourite series, including Derry Girls, Room to Improve and so many more. The night's awards also paid homage to actor Shay Healy, who received a Lifetime Achievement Award. Check out the full list of winners below:



Dancing with the Stars (ShinaWil)



Derry Girls (Hat Trick / Channel 4)


Room to Improve (Coco Television)

Documentary Series

John Connors: The Travellers (Scratch Films / RTE)

Documentary Single


Shaw: My Astonishing Self (Animo TV / RTE)

Soap/ Continuing Drama

Red Rock (TV3)

Female Performance

Sharon Horgan – Catastrophe ((Merman & Avalon TV / Channel 4))

Male Performance

Chris Walley, The Young Offenders (Vico Films/ BBC3/RTE)


Live Event

TG4XX BEO (Gifted Empire/TG4)

Reality & Constructed Reality

Gogglebox Ireland

Specialist Factual

Fairytale of New York (RTÉ)



Crash and Burn (DotTV/TG4)

Current Affairs

RTE Investigates – Nightmare to Let


BBC Newsline

Children & Young People's - Live Action

Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes (Firebrand/RTE)


Children & Young People's - Animation

Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)

Irish Language

Fir Bolg (Dearg Films / TG4)

Director for a Comedy/Soap

Peter Foott, The Young Offenders (Vico Films / BBC3/RTE)

Writer for a Comedy/Soap


Lisa McGee, Derry Girls (Hat Trick/Channel 4)

Director - Television

Garry Keane, Deafening (Mind the Gap / RTE)

Camera - Television

Domenico Pontillo, Wild Ireland – the Edge of the World (Crossing the Line / RTE/BBC)

Editing - Television

Bob Caldwell, Pearl Harbor The Heroes Who Fought Back (360 Productions / Discovery)


Sound - Television

Fiachra O’Hanlon and Killian Fitzgerald Pearl Harbour The Heroes who Fought Back (360 Productions / Discovery)

The image newsletter