Social Pics: Oireachtas Media Awards

TG4, the Irish language television station, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award by President Michael D. Higgins at the Oireachtas Media Awards recently. Other winners on the night included Bl?thnaid N? Chofaigh for her weekly RT? Raidi? na Gaeltachta show ?Bl?thnaid Libh?, St?of?n - Fearail, from Gaeltacht band Seo Linn and Alan Titley, Irish Times columnist.

Best Radio Broadcaster went to Raidio na Gaeltachta's R?n?n Mac Aodha Bhu? whilst S?le Nic Chonaonaigh took home the award for Best Television Broadcaster. Galway's Tara Breathnach won Best Actor for her role as the mother of an autistic boy in Maidhm.

The annual awards, which took place in the Salthill Hotel, Galway, celebrate achievement and excellence in the Irish language media sector and honour actors, journalists, presenters, programme makers and others who have excelled in their contributions in the last year. A new category for Best Short Film was introduced this year and was won by Meangadh F?b?n for their film Sn'mh in aghaidh Easa.

Independent filmmakers Magamedia took home the award for Best Television Series for EIPIC as well as Best Television Programme for Deoch an Dorais. The documentary tells the true story of Irishman Mike Malloy who'survived over 20 attempts on his life in depression-era New York.


See all the snaps from the evening in our gallery above.

Photos: Andrew Downes Photography

The image newsletter