Meteor Choice Music Prize

Meteor Choice Music Prize Awards

The Gloaming have been announced as winners of the?Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2014 for the album?The Gloaming. The judging panel, made up of Irish music media professionals, deliberated at length tonight before choosing the winning album. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Meteor Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music. (The band are currently on tour in Australia).

The winner of the?Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year?was also announced and The Script won the prize for the song "Superheroes". Decided by the public via the Meteor website, there was a fantastic response as fans got behind their favourite song, with a record number of votes cast. The prize was presented to the band by Richard Moat, CEO, eircom Group.


The Gloaming received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) - as well as a specially-commissioned award. The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin was hosted by Today FM's Paul McLoone and was broadcast live on the station on Paul's show.

The image newsletter